Giveaway! A Signed Print Copy of The Lady in Yellow!

Win a Free Signed Copy of the Print Edition of The Lady in Yellow!

Just put your email adress in the box below. Winner will be announced on March 16th!

 

The_Lady_in_Yellow2-2

 

* indicates required



Getting my first book inot print took a long time, mainly because of formatting issues and the painstaking task of catching and eradicating all those pesky typoes. After two more rounds of edits, and my own comb-through, the copy of this much beleaguered, yet steadily selling, book should be 100% clean!

Glad that’s over.

The Lady is a real doorstopper at around 600 pages. I had no idea it was so long! The cover, front and back looks great thanks to Joy Silesen at Indie Author Services.

For readers of The Lady in Yellow, the spin-off, backstory about Sovay is turning into a larger project than i anticipated. I ran into a bit of snag with the first draft as well, but it is in the pipleine. I will keep you all posted and, of course, will have it FREE for fans of The Lady in Yellow.

VILLENEUVE-LEMBRON-chateau-peintures

 

A note on the Wicked color Yellow:

“The color of The Yellow Book was an appropriate reflection of the ‘Yellow Nineties,” a decade in which Victorianism was giving way among the fashionable to Regency attitudes and French influences; For yellow was not only the decor of the notorious and dandified pre-Victorian Regency, but also of the allegedly wicked and decadent French novel” (Weintraub, 99).

The Lady in Yellow is a werewolf story inspired by the mural from Chateua Villaneuve in France  that depicts a lady with long golden hair and dressed in a Medeival gown, clutched in the jaws of an enormous wolf. The look on her face is not one of fear, but of coy sediuction. Legend has it that this lady of the chateau had been a flagrant libertine. In French lore, as we find in the fairy tales like Red Riding Hood, and even in the Lais of Marie de France, the wolf symbolizes a perpetually prowling, sexually seductive male. That this lady in the mural seems to enjoy the wolf’s poessession of her, suggests that this mural is about sexual excess. The murals on the walls around this image show devils and demons and what looks like a magician at his smoky altar. The entire series gives of the stench of sulfur, the yellow fumes of devil worship.

All of these themes have crept into The Lady in Yellow, giving this Gothic Romance, and there is a romance at the center, its creepy occult-laden underground stream.

The color yellow is not significant just because the murals were painted mostly in yellow pigments, but because, in certain contaxts, yellow has some untoward associations.

We have the yellow of sulfur, a mineral connected to the Devil, to fire and brimstone, and the sufulous fumes of Hell.

Yellow Journalism: News stories of a titiilating and scandalous nature.

Yellow is the color of gold, symbolizing wealth and corruption

In Victorian times: London’s infernal yellow fog….

The 1890s were tagged The Yellow Nineties by a London bookseller who filled his front window with French novels (scandalous!) that all had yellow covers. This isnpired the artist, Aubrey Beardsley and Ocasr Wilde to produce a magaizine called The Yellow Book.

From: http://www.1890s.ca/

“Holbrook Jackson, describing the impact of The Yellow Book, explained: “It was newness in excelsis: novelty naked and unashamed. People were puzzled and shocked and delighted, and yellow became the colour of the hour, the symbol of the time-spirit. It was associated with all that was bizarre and queer in art and life, with all that was outrageously modern.”

So, you see, its not all sunshine an tea roses, the color yellow. it’s actually not very nice. Diabolical. Wicked. Like the lady in my book, The Lady in Yellow.

 

page1-415px-The_Yellow_Book_-_06.djvu

Here we have the suggestion of Chinese influence which meant, in Vistorian England, the influence of opium. Many poets such as Baeudelaire and Coleridge were reputed to have written their works under its mind-altering spell.

If you can think of any more associations with the color yellow, feel free to comment!

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedin

Special Story for Fans of The Lady in Yellow!

 

The_Lady_in_Yellow2-2

Those of you who have read my Victorian Gothic Romance, The Lady in Yellow, know there is a back story about the twins’ mysterious mother, Lady Sovay. Her’s is a very strange story: an aristocratic French girl, Sovay, who comes from a family of occultists. She is plagued by unsuitable suitors, until she meets the handsome Rafe de Grimston at a gathering in the Chateau Villanueve and falls in love with him. Other guests arrive who raise suspicions, if not hackles: Monsieur Gaston and his ward, Odile, who looks like Sovay’s late Aunt Seraphine, a witch who vanished while in trance at a seance.

An ancient family curse is reignited that night as the ruined church on the hill burns, and Odile walks into the fire…

To offer this book online would spoil many of the mysteries and surprises in The Lady in Yellow. But for those who have already read it, it will satisfy their curiosity.

If you would like an exclusive copy of this story, Sovay,  delivered to your inbox, sign up for my mailing list below!

 

* indicates required



VILLENEUVE-LEMBRON-chateau-peintures

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedin

The Book of UnHoly Beasts

In The Lady in Yellow, Rafe gives Veronica an ancient, Medieval tome,

The Book of Unholy Beasts.

4607489-232675-vintage-book-cover-with-ornament

The book is a compendium of mythical creatures… including the one special to the de Grimstons…along with descriptions of them and their legends.  I was thinking of approaching an artist friend of mine to make this book and have it available to fans of The Lady in Yellow. It may happen someday, but in the meantime, I thought it would be fun to share some of these antique images from actual Medieval illuminated manuscripts.

British-Artist-Books-1500-Plant-Specimen-and-Bestiary-Book-4-e1357352758773-1024x768

Various UnGodly Creatures including a Wildman

 

9780789211279.interior03

Strange Unnatural Creatures, Dragon, Unicorn, Oliphant and Foreigners

 

036a33e6f2a6f393b7c2c0a9d7bdede4

Domestic Cats

img4538

Wolves and Wolfman

3163795436_74d100dd29_z

Manticore: Head of a Man, body of a Lion

 

sirenlg

Sirens

f84d6bd8f24ca0e528365f6c3793b02f

Griffin

 

medieval_bestiary_gujozec_by_gujozec-d46adkl

WTF????

 

Side Story: The Wolf of Chazes who was tried in a French court for murder. Thus are legends made.

Wolf_of_Chazes

Our ancestors really belived this stuff. Its possible that some of these weird creatures were real, created in the labratories of lost Atlantis. Who knows for sure?

 

 

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedin

I am Really Sorry!

The Lady in Yellow was supposed to be available for 99 cents until November 4th.

I don’t know what poessessed me, but I got the days mixed up and took it off early evening on the 3rd.

Good grief!

It wasn’t even a Mercury retrograde!

So in order to make it up to you, I am going to set The Lady in Yellow at 99c —down from $3.99.

for the resto f this wek and to the weekend, plus The Haunted Garden: Secret of the Memento Mori at 99 censt down from $2.99.

All on Amazon.

The_Lady_in_Yellow2-2

http://amzn.to/1ooauXX

AlynedeWinter_TheHauntedGarden_b

http://amzn.to/1hu5SxA

Sale will end Saturday, November 8, 2014.

Its on Now!

Thanks for Understanding…..

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedin

The Lady in Yellow is 99 cents November 2-4!

The Lady in Yellow is my best selling novel, a Victorian Gothic Romance

with werewolves.

For the next couple of days, the e-book will be 99 censt on all platforms.

The_Lady_in_Yellow2-2

A young governess gets her first job in a stately home in the wilds of Yorkshire, only to discover that the family she serves suffer from an ancient, bestial curse.

Here are the links:

 Amazon Kindle: http://amzn.to/1ooauXX

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/the-lady-in-yellow-2

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/150569

So, there’s no excuse not to give it a try! Happy reading!

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedin